A Bit of This and a Bit of That…

Got an early start this morning – it was such a warm night that I woke up very early and couldn’t bear to stay in the stuffy bedroom when I knew it would be deliciously fresh and cool outside. So first job sitting at the terrace table was to get some ideas for the layout of my first small art quilts for the http://academyofquilting.com/myacademy/getting-started-with-quilt-art/lesson-one. Think I have cracked the layouts for both – the 1st is based on photos from my daughter’s recent wedding and the second is based on the word ‘Roots’. For this, I think I am going to use the wiggly waviness of roots with the colours from a photo I found which is a microscopic image of a slice of tree root. Need to photocopy what I’ve drawn so I can play with colouring it. I might use sharpie markers – or I might thread paint – or possibly a bit of both. I’ll have to see where it takes me. Here are the final drawings I am going to use

Image

Roots

Image

 

Wedding

They don’t look much yet, but I know what they mean.

Had a book club meeting after that followed by a potter around town where I posted the feather postcards and bought the first threads for the Joan Elliott Stitch-Along that is going ahead on facebook (Look for Faces of Joan Elliott SAL if you are interested)

Image

 

Later on in the evening I did a bit more of my June postcard for the Postcards From Around the World group (http://postcardsroundtheworld.wordpress.com/).

Image

 

So that was today’s progress. 

Leave a Reply

