June Postcard and Wonky Blocks

Well the June postcard for the Postcards From Around the World group (http://postcardsroundtheworld.wordpress.com/) is completed and ready to send. Theme was The Outdoors and I love hot air balloons…

Image

 

The balloon is hand embroidered in satin stitch with blanket stitch for the basket and then I have free-motion quilted around each little bird to add some depth to the background fabric. Very pleased with it.

Also started work on Lesson 2 of my Academy of Quilting course – making wonky Log Cabin blocks. Not sure I am too pleased with my efforts, I might just give it another go tomorrow. If I make what I believe to be a ‘mistake’ I can’t leave it alone until I’ve rescued it in some way and turned it into something else and I have an idea what I will try with these pieces…

Image

 

And what I have in mind involves this piece:

Image

 

…which is a bit of white on white with some gold bias binding sewn to it in a spiral. Let’s see what happens.

The thing that happens may very well be that the whole piece becomes intimately acquainted with the inside of the bin – but you don’t find out unless you try do you?

Leave a Reply

