Postcards and Mandalas

This was the weekend for completing my postcards for the month. The theme for Postcards From Around the World was to mix things up a bit and use bits and bobs of anything you fancied using up or having a play with. No theme was given for the Free Motion postcard group so I used this as an opportunity to practise a technique from the Getting Started with Art Quilts course I am following (http://academyofquilting.com/myacademy/getting-started-with-quilt-art) which is fusible applique-ing with a shadow. The flower postcard was my first attempt and I am quite pleased with it. I hope the recipient likes it as much.

IMG_0184

These are the 2 for the ‘Mix It Up’ theme:

 

IMG_0182     IMG_0185

All the postcards have been done against the same background as you can see. This was a fat quarter-sized piece of free motion quilting I did for this purpose. The remainder will no doubt be used as a background for some future piece of work. I worked in marked 1″ wide rows to create this background piece and just tried out a variety of pre-drawn patterns that have been hanging around in my sketch book for a while.

A bit more progress has been made on Mixed Media Mandalas (Louise Gale – Creative Costa – http://louisegale.com/workshops/mixed-media-mandala-online-class). This is a very simple design made with a compass and the same size circle throughout. I drew and coloured it, then collaged it with papers and finally thread painted it on my trusty Janome. Great fun.

Drawn    Collaged   Stitched

The next part of this course is working on backgrounds so lots of painting days coming up. Watched Louise’s video for her ideas on backgrounds – also watched Kim Thittichai on Colouricious (http://colouricious.com/) using painted newspaper and painted Bondaweb, so I have the full video for that on order. Just waiting now for my Bondaweb and Calico order to arrive from the UK. I am hoping it will be there when I go into town to my postbox tomorrow, then I have the job of convincing the local merceria (haberdasher’s) to stock it so I can top up my supplies a little more easily! Spent Saturday afternoon painting up the pages of an old newspaper in readiness which was great until the wind started to blow – picture me chasing coloured sheets of paper before they blew down into the garden! Well, got to get the exercise somehow I suppose…

 

Leave a Reply

