15th April 2015

Now that the commission quilt is finished it was nice to have a little time off to do some purely frivolous sewing. I made several test pieces for the flowers and butterflies on the sampler quilt, so I thought I would make some backgrounds and turn them into postcards. Three of these were to go off to swap partners, the other 2 have gone into the postcard stash for birthdays, thank you cards etc.

001 (3)     002 (2)

003 (2)      004 (2)

006 (2)

I have a few more of these which I am considering making reverse sides to and turning them into keyrings for small Christmas and birthday gifts.

Then back to work – but enjoyable work – finishing the top for my daughter’s baby quilt. This is for the 2nd grandchild who is due to join us in May.

013

Very happy with it now with the black in it. So glad I picked up that black fabric when I was in the UK.

This was layered up ready for quilting this morning. The rest of the week will be spent preparing for the influx of visitors which starts on Monday. Then I’ll have little windows of time in between where I can get stuck into the actual quilting. Fingers crossed I can get it done before going to UK in June.

Leave a Reply

